Posted in Event

22nd Annual Vocal Jazz Night on Apr. 20

Niles North High School presents an unforgettable evening of music at the 22ndannual Vocal Jazz Night at 7:30 p.m. on Saturday, April 20 in the Auditorium at 9800 Lawler, Skokie. Performing at the event will be Take One, Sound Check and Harmonic Motion. Tickets are $10 per person. For more information, call the Box Office at (847) 626-2122. A free community performance will be held at 10 a.m. on Friday, April 19.


Harmonic Motion will perform “My Favorite Things,” arranged by Mitos Andaya, “Moves,”arranged by Gary Fry, and “Nearness of You,” arranged by Kirby Shaw, to name a few. Harmonic Motion members are Maria Barrera, Nikhar Merchant, Danielle Brown, Lean Oaing, Gabrielle Dizon, Leah Shain, Kryselle Evangelista, Sarah Smith-Whitehead, Alexis Johnson, Mia Temkin, Alexis Kemp and Carissa Yau. Katherine Lachey directs the group.


Sound Check will sing “Get on Your Feet” and “When I Fall in Love,” arranged by Kirby Shaw, and “Loves Me Like a Rock,” arranged by Greg Gilpin. Sound Check performs under the direction of Logan Farris. The group includes Ena Allahverdy, Glenwin Ebreo, Jenny Boston, Michael Hennessy, Flonja Hoxha, Hugo Miranda, Elana Kennedy, Joey Oliveri, Roselie Mazor, Paul Regacho, Emma Reyes and Rose Zubeck.


Take One will perform songs such as “”Moondance,” arranged by Jeremy Fox, “Ain’t That a Kick in The Head,” arranged by Ryan O’Connell and “Knock Me a Kiss,” arranged by Steve Zegree. Take One includes Sally Alvarado, Jacob Austria, Emma Decker, Jazib Gohar, Taylor Gardner, Danny Joseph, Rebecca Pickering, Giorgos Losoff, Olivia Reyes, Matt Sund, Sophie Steger, Noah Zeidman and Julia Thummel. Take One is directed by Daniel Gregerman.


The rhythm sections are directed by Barry Grossman. Musicians for Take One include:  Jacob Nagler, bass; David Liljewall, guitar; Andrew Goldberg, drums; and Ari Bearman, piano. Musicians for Sound Check and Harmonic Motion include:  Jason Woo, piano; Joe Fochs, guitar; Josh Hoffman, guitar; Jonah Jaffe, drums and Jacob Nagler, bass.